Saturday, March 03, 2007

Los Angeles White Sox of the WCNBL

The West Coast Negro Baseball League only operated for part of the 1946 season. Its objective was for teams composed of black ballplayers to play games in stadiums used by teams in the Pacific Coast League while their regular occupants were playing on the road. The league comprised six teams located in Seattle, WA, Portland, OR, San Francisco, CA, Oakland, CA, Los Angeles, CA and San Diego, CA. It folded in July of its only year of operation.

This cap represents the Los Angeles White Sox. This is not what they wore on the field. The colors not only represents the African American players but the many cultures and races that make up Los Angeles.

No comments: